General information

Bulgaria is situated in the South-Eastern part of Europe

Area: 110 994 km2

Population: 7 101 859 (31.12.2016)

To the North Bulgaria borders Romania, to the South - Greece and Turkey, to the West - Serbia and Republic of North Macedonia, to the East - the Black Sea.

Capital city: Sofia (population: 1 323 637) 
Sofia is situated in the Western part of the country, at the foot of the Vitosha mountain.

Official language: Bulgarian

Alphabet: Cyrillic

Religion: Eastern Orthodox Christians (76%)

Muslims (10%), Protestants (1%), Catholics (1%) - National statistical institute, 2011

Currency: Lev (BGN) 
BGN is pegged to the Euro at the rate of BGN 1 per EUR 0.511292.

Time: GMT+2;

Tel. Code:  +359 (2 for Sofia).

The average altitude in the country is 470 m.
The highest peak is Musala at 2925 m altitude.
Bulgaria is located at the borderline between the temperate and the Mediterranean climatic areas. The climate is temperate continental in its Northern part, while the Mediterranean climatic influence is strongly felt in its Southern part.

Weather forecasts